Advanced rider training

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Lee Beddows, Feb 28, 2019.

1. Lee Beddows

Lee Beddows New Member

After reading a comment on another thread, I started thinking about advanced rider training and wondered if anyone has done any and how much they benefited from it?

I'm a driving instructor so had to train and go through an advanced driving qualification for that.
    The knowledge I gained from that has made my road riding ability better and safer.

So what further training have people had?

2. Bikeboy

Bikeboy Active Member

I did wheelie school twice. Does that count?

• Funny Funny x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. T.C

T.C Elite Member

For what its worth, I have -

Police advanced class 1 motorcyclist

Police advanced class 1 car driver

Police qualified driving and riding instructor

Senior advanced motorcycle examiner for RoSPA (1980 – Present)

Senior Advanced driving examiner for RoSPA (1980 – Present)

RoSPA motorcycle diploma qualified instructor (1995 – 2004)

Btec level three motorcycle instructor/assessor (1999 – present)

Department of Transport qualified CBT motorcycle instructor

Department of Transport Direct Access qualified motorcycle instructor.

I was also for about 8 years the chief motorcycle examiner for RoSPA, I wrote and delivered the Motorcycle diploma course for advanced instructors, and I was a founder member of the MRTA (Motorcycle Rider Training Association)

I have various other riding and driving qualifications as well, but they are the main ones.

Does that count?

• Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  4. bradt

bradt Elite Member

Do it Lee

I passed my advanced many years ago, throughly enjoyed the training and a great sense of achievement when you pass, does it make me a better rider ? I would like to think so .
    And with some insurance companies offering a slight reduction in premium you could save some money at renewal time.

• Like Like x 1