bit of career advice guys.

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by rocket, Jan 22, 2014.

1. rocket

rocket Active Member

found out yesterday that were facing redundancies again and this time its big. 2/3 rds of us going this time. getting a bit fed up with this. i been there 22 years and for 16 of those been doing electronic test engineering. i,ve done a few evening courses but never went to uni so pretty much self taught. all my family can pretty much turn there hands to anything and always been in the engineering industry. i,m thinking maybe become a qualified sparky if i,m the one to go. anyone in the industry and whats it like. do you have to be niceic qualfied now or is there other governing bodies too. anyone recommend any courses. always wished from a young age i went down this or gas / plumbing route but just got stuck in my ways a bit.

2. Alblade

Alblade God Like

Another option to 'think about' to keep some income is to take your HGV licence on the quiet and have that to 'fall back on' if needed - not for everyone and sounds like you would want a much more hands-on role.

Its not mega cheap to get your licence (think about £1,500 all in) but it does not expire and is quite quick and you should be able to fit it in round your current work.

I say keep quiet as it may make you one of the 2/3 to go if they thing 'well he's got a fall back job' - not that they should use that as any decision making activity.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do - sure others in the trades you mention can help you out with some good advice.

3. rocket

rocket Active Member

yes anyone else with tips. would really like to get qualified as a sparky. been dong an equally technical job for 16 years and have pat test experience. just need to get some more strings to my bow lol

4. Stumoores

Stumoores New Member

Get into plc's and instrumentation, it's mega bucks. House bashing is ok but there's lots of cowboys out there who have done a 3 week course.

5. Givover