Higher Education

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Yorkshire Tyke, Sep 23, 2013.

1. Yorkshire Tyke

Yorkshire Tyke Elite Member

Bit of a random one I suppose people lol

Basically I'm doing my degree alongside my apprenticeship in engineering, enjoying it but it is bloody hard work along with full time employment. I am considering doing my masters degree also, this is all funded by the company I work for but I will be 30 by the time it's all done.

Just interested to know what level those in the same/similar industries have studied to and if you though it was worth it?

I know that on paper next to someone without a masters, you'd look better with one, but experience counts for a lot these days. What's the real truth of it. Everyone says to me if it's free then do it, but it is a big commitment of time and effort and I want to make an informed decision.

Cheers

:p

2. Jimbo Vills

Jimbo Vills God Like

Done my degree on day release, took 5 years, was tough as I had a fair amount of responsibility at work by the last two years (the positive of studying and working) so was doing a 5 day week in 4 at work plus day at Uni and coursework. Had to do private work also to help fund the mortgage etc but was well worth it as I think it helps tick the box for future employers.

Was a great way to do it IMO, had no debt, loads of experience and the guys doing day release were far more clued up than full time students.

Can't say I learnt much I didn't learn at work, but got the piece of paper to say I do ;)

Thought about doing the masters but didn't, might do in the future if I fancy a change but for now, work is manic so couldn't face it tbh.

If you can fit it in and they are paying, then go for it. You'll still be gaining experience at work and not getting into debt over it. Nobody can take it off you once you have it mate and 30 ain't that old ;)

#2 Jimbo Vills, Sep 23, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Yorkshire Tyke