Nuclear Power What do you think

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by megawatt, Nov 9, 2011.

1. megawatt

megawatt Well-Known Member

Didn't get involved in the other contentious thread, so here's another one!!!
    I am Homer Simpson's dopey apprentice at a shutdown/decommissioning Magnox power station. What do you guys reckon about nuclear power? Please keep it clean and try not to upset me or I'll nuke your bike and poison you with Polonium!!!

2. tanstair

tanstair Active Member

Japan!

3. tanstair

tanstair Active Member

I work in the Renewable industry so I am Biased :triniti:

4. megawatt

Good point Tanstair, but is that a reason for not having nuclear power stations or not having em anywhere. NOt much chance of a tsunami on the Suffolk coast and a completely different reactor design!

5. kpone

kpone Moderator
    Staff Member

When I were a boy, we were constantly being assured by the powers that be that at 4 minutes notice we would be flash vaporised by the thermosphere, have our internal cavities ruptured by the shock wave, shredded by blades of grass propelled to supersonic speed by the displaced air and irradiated by airborne particulates and heavy metals and isotopes in the water table and food chain, from the imminent Soviet first strike.

Now I'm a middle aged man apparently I'm going to get twatted by cholesterol.

Hindsight being 20 20 I think everyone would agree that fission reactors would have been better restricted to the laboratory than hailed as the saviour of our future and proliferated across the planet to hold us hostage to administration changes, economic constraints as regard maintenance and safety considerations, not to mention terrorist vulnerability and the temptation to breed weaponised plutonium and uranium from the facilities involved.