Power Commander V failure and Single Seat Cover rub

Discussion in 'General 1000RR Discussion' started by Jamiestrada, Sep 7, 2011.

1. Jamiestrada

Jamiestrada JamieMultiTraitor

Not having a good week :(

Hi there I have been running a PCV on my 2010 cbr1000rr for 3 months, whilst riding the bike it suddenly dropped a cylinder, I had a complete loss of power with thick white smoke exiting the exhaust.

I pulled over stopped and switched off the engine, I tried to restart the bike but the bike would not start at all ?

I pushed the bike to the nearest petrol station (1.5 miles) where I attempted to start it one more time with the same result, it would not start.

I then removed the dynojet PCV from the OE harness to see if the PCV was the problem, the bike started first time with the PCV removed.

I went to the honda dealer I bought it from and they want to test the bike for fault codes etc, and fit the now removed PCV to see if the problem is still there. So its with them tommorow.

Has anyone else had problems at all with there PCV?

Also they are looking at the seat cowl as the single seat cover is rubbing the paint of the rear seat unit, anyone else had this.

Not having a good week, sick of problems :suicide:

2. dan.1moore1

dan.1moore1 Senior Member

Zeepony i think has had his set unit and cowl replaced twice under warranty for them rubbing

Never heard of the power commander problem thou and funny how it just suddenly happened .. It will be interesting to find out the course of the fault

3. tonyblade

tonyblade Active Member

hi jamie, a bit different i know but i had a tuning box on my diesel car and it flew! but fault codes soon kept comming up , the turbo went so off it came and 3yrs later all is good so to me there not worth it. imho i know lads will swear by them and thats fine, but dont think ill go down that route . oh by the way my seat hump has rubbed as well!

4. Bat Fastard

Bat Fastard Active Member

Hi,