Recording ride outs

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Muffking, Nov 17, 2013.

1. Muffking

Muffking God Like

Just found this App mentioned in this months RIDE, but have a question about recording your rides.
    [​IMG]

According to the reviews it says that the information that it stores can be used by the police. Now I know they are probably covering themselves, but It got me thinking about admissible evidence of any recordings. i.e. don't camcorder recordings need to be time coded in order to be used in court? And what are the implications of an App recording details of your 120 mile ride covered in 90 minutes for example?

2. Dave V

Dave V Elite Member

I'm no expert on the law, but I'd think you'd be bang to rights especially if the app uses GPS to track the route recorded.

3. Jimbo Vills

Jimbo Vills God Like

As I understand it. If the police suspect you of committing a criminal offence, they can take your phone / camera if they want for examination of evidence.

Doesn't need a clock afaik, just the ability to prove you were riding and that you have committed an offence from the evidence you have recorded. Be it speeding or dangerous driving etc.

Hence folk have been prosecuted for videos they have posted on YouTube!

4. Barstewardsquad

Barstewardsquad God Like

They have used people's videos against them. Think I have heard about gps tracks being used as well but at moment the only one I can think of is the bloke who tweaked his gps data and tried to use it In his own defence.

I used to have a infrorad speed camera thingy on my bike which could record tracking info. I turned that function off for this very reason.

5. Jimbo Vills

Jimbo Vills God Like

But isn't the infored camera thing illegal in its own right?

Like the road angel things that were about a few years back?

6. martinowen

martinowen Moderator
    Staff Member

Jimbo I think it was one of those stupid laws