Which Brake Pads ?

Discussion in 'Mods, Upgrades, Accessories and Products' started by BladeRR8, Jun 25, 2011.

1. BladeRR8

BladeRR8 Active Member

Need to change my RR8 brake pads soon and although I have been fairly happy with the OE pads (with Brembo M/C and braided lines installed) I was wondering if anybody had any recommendations for improvements.

I use the bike for fast road riding and about 1 trackday a month so something that fits both would be good but if a particular set up was favoured for track riding I would be happy to change my pads between road and track riding if it was worth while.

2. ray

ray Well-Known Member

I've heard Carbone Lorraine SBK's are good.

I've no experience myself as I'm still on the standard pads :)

3. Brym

Brym Active Member

#3 Brym, Jun 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  4. flatstickHRC

flatstickHRC Active Member

Best pads I have used were SBS dual carbon

No good for the road or on a we track as you won't get the heat in them

On the road I just usually stick wih OE pads or HH sintered but they are not recommended for the track as the run very hot and can damage the disc.

For road and track the OE pads are pretty decent.

5. ray

ray Well-Known Member

I've read in numerous forums & websites to steer clear of EBC pads.

6. BladeRR8

BladeRR8 Active Member

The Bendix MRR sound a good option for road and track (see highlight section below) and the price is very good too.

You find these beeter than OE on the road too Brym ?

Sintered racing brake pads for serious track use. MRR is an ideal track day pad for more serious riders of superbikes of all sizes or a competitive racing pad upto 600 classes.

Awesome stopping power in wet or dry conditions.
    Progressive feel / feedback.
    Short bed in period due to thermal pre-treatment.
    Ceramic backed to reduce fade.
    Recommended for use with stainless or OE iron rotors.